“Revealing Responses from the Rep!”—with actor Adam Noble

Fun Fact: For our production of The Taming of the Shrew, Adam had to balance acting as Petruchio along with stage choreographing all of the fight scenes.  Essentially, he was teaching his Kate, Molly Casey, how to best attack him later on.

  • Adam NobleName,  Daytime Job/ Alter Ego,  Hometown/Origins
    Adam Noble
    Assistant Professor, Acting/Movement/Stage Combat
    Seldovia, Alaska
  • Roles Playing  in the Rep Shows
    Boris Kolenkhov, You Can’t Take It With You
    Petruchio, Taming of the Shrew
  • What has been your best rehearsal experience during You Can’t Take It With You and The Taming of the Shrew?
    I really enjoy getting to work with my colleagues Jonathan Michaelsen and Dale McFadden (directing Shrew and YCTIWY, respectively).  As ever, it’s less about the small moments in the rehearsal room, and more about the ensemble.  I love this company of artists.
  • What is something about you that would surprise people?
    Most of my students are surprised to hear that I have never killed anyone… yet.
  • What was the first show you remember seeing?
    My mother took me to a children’s show that I no longer remember the title of… there was a song in it called “The Bongo from the Congo.”  I was blown away that magic could live in the real world.
  • What has been your favorite role in your acting career?
    I realize that it is anathema to questionnaires like this, but I really don’t do favorites very well.  I like what I like, and I gravitate toward what I want/need/crave in the moment.  A list of my “favorite” roles would include: Eddie (Fool for Love), Iago (Othello), Edward (Spike Heels), Romeo (Romeo & Juliet), Dimitri Karamazov (The Brothers Karamazov), Peck (How I Learned to Drive)… I love them all for different reasons.
  • What has been your least favorite role?
    In undergrad (at the University of California at Berkeley), I took part in a theatrical adaptation of “The Trial of God” by Elie Weisel.  It would have been more accurate to call the 3+ hour ordeal “The Trial of the Audience.”
  • What is a role you would kill to play?
    I have a few of those.  High on the list:  Cyrano (Cyrano de Bergerac), Hal (Henry IV, 1-2), Tony Roma (Glengarry Glen Ross), Coriolanus (Coriolanus), Henry (Henry V)…
  • Who is your inspiration or idol?
    People who are self aware, and hold themselves to a high standard.  Those with honor.  Those who do it right, and do it well.
  • What are three things that you could not live without?
    Flippant answer?  Sushi.  Comfortable shoes.  Coffee.
    Pretentious answer?  Love.  Discipline.  Truth.
  • What is your pre-show ritual?
    It changes, depending on the needs of the show.  Generally speaking, I arrive early, warm up body and voice, and spend some time taking on the character bit by bit.
  •  Finish this statement: “I’ll never understand why. . .”
    I am old and cynical enough for this list to be too long to print here.
  •  What is the best piece of advice to give aspiring actors
    Do it for a higher purpose.  Do it for yourself.  Or don’t do it at all.

See Adam Noble stomp around as Shakespeare’s anti-hero Petruchio or prance around pining for his homeland in You Can’t Take it With You, both playing in repertory all through the month of July. See this page for details!

Adam Noble as Petruchio and Molly Casey as Katherina

Adam Noble as Petruchio in THE TAMING OF THE SHREW woos Molly Casey as Katherina.


—article by Chika Ike

About IU Theatre Department

Welcome to the 7th & Jordan blog. This blog is a peak behind the curtain at the Indiana University Theatre Department productions and student work.
This entry was posted in Department of Theatre + Drama, Faculty and Staff, Indiana Festival Theatre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

