“Revealing Responses with the Rep!” – with Nicole Bruce

Nichole Bruce

  • Name,  Daytime Job/ Alter Ego,  Hometown/Origins

Nicole Bruce

Student at Indiana University majoring in Theatre

Born in La Jolla, California, raised in Bloomington, Indiana.

  • Roles Playing  in the Rep Shows

Essie in You Can’t Take it With You

Grumio in The Taming of the Shrew

  • What has been your best rehearsal experience during You Can’t Take It With You and The Taming of the Shrew?

I like observing other actors at work, that’s always the most fascinating aspect for me and in these two shows which are so different in style and tone; it is brilliant to watch the same actors access diametrically opposed characters.

  • What is something about you that would surprise people?

I’m actually 5 foot 7, hahaha. Really, I’m more introverted and solitary than people would imagine.

  • What was the first show you remember seeing?

The Phantom of the Opera

  • What has been your favorite role in your acting career?

I’ve been very fortunate to work on a lot of new plays, and with that comes the honor of originating a role. Kate Crackernuts by Sheila Callaghan has since been published and I am very proud to be in the script as the original Kate. That role will always be very close to my heart.

  • What has been your least favorite role?

I’m always very grateful to get work at all, but there was a role way back when, where I was just very uncomfortable in my skin and completely wrong for the part. That was probably my least favorite experience.

  • What is a role you would kill to play?

Mrs. Lovett from Sweeney Todd

  • Who is your inspiration or idol?

It’s a whole mish mash, really. My family has inspired me all my life. After them, the first three that immediately come to mind are Madeline Kahn, Geoffrey Rush and Peter Sellers.

  • What are three things that you could not live without?

Truly: My Sister, Laughing, and Coffee.

  • What is your pre-show ritual?

Sometimes it varies depending on the show. I always stretch and warm up my body and voice, but sometimes listening to music evocative of the show or role is helpful to me. I don’t necessarily need complete silence beforehand. I just need to be prepared, whatever that happens to look like.

  • Finish this statement: “I’ll never understand why. . .”

Audiences stopped throwing tomatoes and produce at bad performances.

  •  What is the best piece of advice to give aspiring actors

Have a thick skin, and an amazing work ethic goes a long way.

See Nicole as a  grubby energetic returning veteran  Grumio in The Taming of the Shrew, AND as the Sycomore’s resident tiny dancer Essie in You Can’t Take It With You,both playing in repertory all through the month of July. See this page for details!

Nicole Bruce as Elsie with Abby Rowold as her mother Penny Sycamore

About IU Theatre Department

Welcome to the 7th & Jordan blog. This blog is a peak behind the curtain at the Indiana University Theatre Department productions and student work.
This entry was posted in Indiana Festival Theatre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

