“Revealing Responses with the Rep!” – with Molly Casey and Aaron Densley

 Molly Casey

  • Name,  Daytime Job/ Alter Ego,  Hometown/Origins

Molly Casey, Wedding Planner (only my own)

originally from Edison, NJ

  • Role Playing  in the Rep Shows

Kate in The Taming of the Shrew & Alice in You Can’t Take It With You

  • What has been your best rehearsal experience during You Can’t Take It With You and The Taming of the Shrew?

Getting to fight the Ninja that is Adam Noble on a regular basis.

  • What is something about you that would surprise people?

I love zombie movies/shows.  I sometimes fantasize about how I will survive the zombie apocalypse.

  • What was the first show you remember seeing?

Harvey.  I think I was about 4 or 5.  Then a year or two later I saw my father as the police officer in The Front Page.  He was hilarious!  I figured I might have a few of those genes, so I decided to become an actor.

  • What has been your favorite role in your acting career?

Definitely the Marquise de Merteuil  in Les Liaisons Dangereuses.  She’s so often played strictly as a villain and I wanted to bring out her humanity.  Plus, she has some of the best lines ever spoken on a stage.

  • What has been your least favorite role?

This might sound corny, but every role I’ve played has been a learning experience and I’m thankful for the opportunity.  Some experiences have been more rewarding than others, but it’s all worth it in the end.

  • What is a role you would kill to play?

Viola in Twelfth Night

  • Who is your inspiration or idol?

I’ve always looked up to smart, creative actors who choose roles wisely and have fought against playing a type:  Kate Winslet, Cate Blanchett, Julianne Moore, and Meryl Streep (I mean who doesn’t love Mer Bear?!)

  • What are three things that you could not live without?

A treadmill, chocolate, and my soon to be husband, Austin (sappy, but true)

  • What is your pre-show ritual?

I create a different warm-up for each show, depending on the demands of the night ahead.  Once I find the perfect combo, I have to do the same warm-up each time.

  • Finish this statement: “I’ll never understand why. . .”

People text and drive.

  •  What is the best piece of advice to give aspiring actors

Only do this if you absolutely love it.

Molly Casey as Kate in Taming of the Shrew
Photo by Ivona Hedin

~0~0~0~0~0~

  • Name,  Daytime Job/ Alter Ego,  Hometown/Origins


Aaron Densley, Dad/BFA-MT STUDENT/Surfer

Shelton Washington

  • Role Playing  in the Rep Shows

Tony Kirby in  You Can’t Take it With You

Lucentio in The Taming of the Shrew

  • What has been your best rehearsal experience during You Can’t Take It With You and The Taming of the Shrew?

There are so many funny discoveries that happen during the rehearsal process its fun to have a little sense of “Inside Jokes” during the run of the shows. This Cast has been the most supportive and enjoyable cast I have ever been in.

  • What is something about you that would surprise people?

I was homeless in Hawaii for about 6 months, lived in my car and on the beach, and just “lived.”

  • What was the first show you remember seeing?

Oklahoma or West Side Story, I can’t remember which was first, I was about 6.

  • What has been your favorite role in your acting career?

I just love being on stage, they are all fun, though I love Jazz Musicals so Benny Southstreet in Guys and Dolls was a good one.

  • What has been your least favorite role?

Again all of my characters have been enjoyable, but The Three Musketeers was a really long show 3+ hours, I was the Duke of Buckingham, the role was way fun, the show was just way long.

  • What is a role you would kill to play?

No role is that important. Killing is bad.  Living is good.  I would love to be in a great jazz musical though.  I just wanna sing with an amazing Big Band.

  • Who is your inspiration or idol?

Professionally:  Patrick Stewart, Ralph Fiennes, and Hugh Jackman

  • What are three things that you could not live without?

My Wife and Kids
The Ocean
Music

  • What is your pre-show ritual?

I like to take a second to lie down on the stage and relax, then listen to whatever music will get me in the right frame of mind.

  • Finish this statement: “I’ll never understand why. . .”

People can’t love and understand each other

  • What is the best piece of advice to give aspiring actors?

Talent only gets you to the stage. It’s respect, hard work, passion and determination that will really turn you into an artist worth watching. Respect and Love are the most important things you can have.

Aaron Densley in the Taming of the Shrew

Aaron Densley, Jackson Goldberg, and Andrea Mellos in The Taming of the Shrew

See these two lovers battle the odds (and their families) in You Can’t Take it With You and wooing (and kicking and punching…) their soul mates in The Taming of the Shrew. Only one week left!

You Can't Take it With You

Molly Casey, Ken Farrell, and Aaron Densley
You Can’t Take it With You

About IU Theatre Department

Welcome to the 7th & Jordan blog. This blog is a peak behind the curtain at the Indiana University Theatre Department productions and student work.
This entry was posted in Alumni, Indiana Festival Theatre, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

